Where Now?

As Goggle V wraps up, many have been asking the obvious – what now? Well, at the moment, I’ll be taking a well deserved break from subbing. Honestly, the past five months have been rough. I learned a valuable lesson from doing this and that’s subbing is hard! Especially when you’re doing it all by yourself.

I got into this thanks to the release of the Power Rangers movie back in March. I grew up watching the original show back in the ’90s and I knew it was based off of Super Sentai then. The new movie only renewed my interest and led me to finding the original shows. Then I discovered they weren’t all subbed. There were gaps in the sequence. I searched near and far for subs to Goggle V and other shows, but all for naught. Then I discovered a set of really bad subs that had been translated from Portuguese, so I sat down to see if I could turn them into a story that made sense. Even that proved difficult, but I persevered. It was slow at first, but as I got used to things the subbing went a little faster.

I’ll tell you this, though: I abandoned the dubtitles back around episode 30. I started using the translate apps speech-to-text feature – and yes, I know that’s not accurate either – to start translating the Japanese directly. Sometimes it didn’t work. But then it started to make sense.

I’ve begun learning Japanese. Some will say that’s not easy as well, but I’ve learned I’m good with languages if I put my mind to it. I picked up Spanish as a kid while my classmates struggled to say their names in the language.

So where do I go from here. Well, obviously there’ll be second versions of the episodes, especially the first 30 and the others as I refine my language skills and make the subs much better. There are errors, yes, but those can be fixed.

As for subbing other shows. I’m not sure yet. I’ve done some test runs on an episode of JAKQ as well as an episode of Fiveman. I had actually thought of doing Fiveman, but a subber named XIG has apparently taken that one so I won’t step on anyone’s toes there. There was talk of Flashman, once, and yes, I have fallen for that show. I love the end theme for that one. So that could be a possibility.

Then there’s always Denziman. It’s the one that’s never been done, which is odd as it was one of the most popular at the time. No one’s touched it since DeadFish went under, it seems.

I think, for the moment, I’m going to enjoy the episodes of Dynaman currently subbed. It’s a good show and seems to have gone in the direction Goggle V could have gone.

I think when I do finish the second versions of Goggle V, they’ll be released as batches as opposed to single episodes, so do keep an eye out here for any updates. For anyone not following me, do so so that you’ll get updates when I post new material.

Until then, my friends. Keep on keeping on!

9 thoughts on “Where Now?

  1. Thanks for the great job man! I’m brazilian and i watched Goggle V and another Sentais and Kamen Rider that aired on Brazil in the 80’s. It’s amazing to see someone bringing a piece of my childhood with the original audio. Thank you very much for your work and hope to see more of you.

    Like

  2. I think if anything, Denziman would be the logical choice.
    Or maybe even Turborangers as Lovexcare are taking quite a bit of time to release their subs.

    Like

  3. i hope you will subs the remaining episodes of DYNAMAN (if MFC continue subbing) since April …and thank you for subbing GOGGLE V 🙂 fighting!!

    Like

  4. Enjoy your break man! I agree with the comment above that Denziman would be awesome to see get picked up, but ultimately you decide what you want to sub!

    Like

  5. Much gratitude for these subbed versions of Goggle V!!! I am a huge fan of both Sentai and Henshin Tokusatsu shows of the ’70s and ’80s, and Goggle V is one of those series I always wanted more than the handful I could find. I was thrilled back in 2013 (I think) when I found the complete Choudenshi Bioman subbed by Grownups In Spandex, and am now just as thrilled to have another full series for my Toku-binge pleasure! Many thanks, and enjoy your break!

    Like

  6. As a personal request I would like to see you do JAKQ, it’s quite short and I think it would be nice to see more series get completed instead of starting another big one, which I think you did an amazing job at so actually Denziman wouldnt be bad either! Take a wel deserved break, you’re awsome and you’ve brought joy to a lot of people! If you need us just ask! We love you man, hope we’ll see you back sooner then Love and Cares subbing rate XD, just joking that would be in 2 years or something XD

    Like

Leave a comment